Connect with us

2019 Lok Sabha Elections: Voting In 7 Phases From 11 April, Results on 23 May

2019 Lok Sabha Elections: Voting In 7 Phases From 11 April, Results on 23 May
File photo of voters outside a polling booth. (Source – Twitter handle of the Spokesperson, Election Commission of India)


2019 Lok Sabha Elections: Voting In 7 Phases From 11 April, Results on 23 May

Four states will also vote for the assembly in addition to the Lok Sabha.

The 2019 Lok Sabha elections will be held in seven phases in April and May, the Election Commission of India (ECI) announced on Sunday. Four states, Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, and Arunachal Pradesh, will also vote for their respective state assemblies.

The first phase of voting for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections will take place on 11 April; the last phase will be held on 19 May. Counting of votes for all the 543 Lok Sabha seats will be taken up on 23 May.

The five-year term of the 16th Lok Sabha is due to expire on 3 June.

Schedule For The The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Elections: Voting In 7 Phases From 11 April, Results on 23 May

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora along with Election Commissioners Ashok Lavasa (left) and Sushil Chandra (right) announcing the poll schedule in New Delhi on Sunday. (Source – PIB)

Announcing the schedule for the the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sunil Arora  said that 91 constituencies spread across 20 states will see polling on 11 April.

Voting for 97 Lok Sabha constituencies in 13 states will be held on April 18, while 115 seats in 14 states will go to polls on 23 April. Nine states will vote for 71 seats on 29 April, while 51 seats in seven states will see elections on 6 May.

Polling for 59 seats each will be held on May 12 (seven states) and May 19 (eight states).

In addition to elections for the four state assemblies, bye-elections will also be held for 34 assembly seats in 12 states that are vacant at the moment. The voting will follow the same schedule as their respective Parliamentary constituencies.

2019 Lok Sabha Elections In Numbers

The Lok Sabha polls to be conducted in April and May will be one of the biggest such exercises ever carried out. Let’s take a look at some of the numbers.

  • Approximately 900 million people will be eligible to vote as per the electoral rolls as on 1 January 2019. This is an increase of over 84 million since 2014.
  • Over 15 million electors are in 18-19 years age group. Electors in the age group of 18 to 19 years constitute 1.66% of total electors.
  • There are 10,35,918 Polling Stations across the country, as compared to approximately 9,28,000 Polling Stations set up during the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

(Read – 2019 General Elections To Be Most Expensive In Indian History: US Expert)

VVPAT Machines In All Polling Booths

2019 Lok Sabha Elections: Voting In 7 Phases From 11 April, Results on 23 May

A VVPAT awareness campaign in Mizoram. (Source – Twitter)

The Election Commission has decided that Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) machines will be provided along with the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) in all polling booths.

It said that 17.4 lakh VVPAT units will be used in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. This will enhance the transparency and credibility of the election process as VVPAT allows the voter to verify his/her vote, the commission pointed out.

The Commission has also mandated a VVPAT slip count of one randomly selected Polling Station in each Assembly Constituency in case of Assembly elections and one randomly selected polling station of each Assembly Segment of Parliamentary Constituency.

This will be conducted by the Returning Officer, by a draw of lot in the presence of all candidates, for verification of the result obtained from the Control Unit.

(Read – All About NOTA As Supreme Court Says No To It For Rajya Sabha Polls)

Continue Reading

More in Parliament

Why Younger Nation

Must Read

Take A Quiz


Like Us on Facebook

To Top