Connect with us

Assembly Elections 2018: 5 States Go To Polls In November, December

Assembly Elections 2018: 5 States Go To Polls In November, December
Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat (centre) announcing the election schedule in New Delhi on Saturday. (Source- PIB Twitter handle)

States and UTs

Assembly Elections 2018: 5 States Go To Polls In November, December

Elections will be held in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana, Mizoram, and Chhattisgarh.

The Election Commission of India has announced the dates for the assembly elections 2018 to be held in five states.

Single phase assembly elections will be held in Mizoram, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Telangana while elections in only Chhattisgarh will be held in two phases, the commission said on Saturday. Counting of votes in all the five states will be held on 11 December 2018.

The first phase of voting in Chhattisgarh will be held on 12 November for 18 assembly constituencies. The elections for the remaining 72 constituencies will be held in the second phase of voting on 20 November.

Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram will go to polls on the 28 November, while Rajasthan and Telangana will cast the votes on 7 December.

State Assembly Elections 2018

Chief Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat said that there were certain changes in the affidavit of the candidates who are contesting the polls. The model code of conduct has come into effect in all the five states with the Election Commission’s announcement about the schedule of the assembly elections 2018.

The state assembly of Mizoram has 50 members and will expire the earliest out of all the five states, on 15 December 2018.

The term of the Chhattisgarh state assembly consisting of 90 members will end on 5 January 2019.  Two days later, the 230-member Madhya Pradesh House will complete its term. The tenure of 200 members of the Rajasthan House will also expire on 20 January next year.

Initially scheduled to be held with the Lok Sabha elections 2019 simultaneously, the elections in Telangana are to be held early as its Chief Minister K.Chandrashekar Rao of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) had dissolved the state assembly on September 6.

(Read– 2017 Assembly Elections: BJP Retains Gujarat, Wrests Himachal Pradesh)

Previous State Election Results

In Rajasthan, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had won 163 out of the 200 assembly seats. The party had also won in the 2013 elections in Chhattisgarh by winning 39 assembly seats out of the 90.

In the Telangana Assembly Elections 2014, Rashta Samithi (TRS) won 63 seats out of 119 to form the first government in the state. The party became the eighth largest party in Lok Sabha and eventually got 3 seats in the Upper House of the Parliament.

In the northeast state Mizoram that has 40 assembly seats, the Indian National Congress came to power with a majority of 34 seats.

Madhya Pradesh was one of the first five states in which the Election Commission had introduced the “None Of The Above” (NOTA) voting option. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerged as the winner with 165 seats. Indian National Congress (INC) won 58 seats while 4 and 3 seats were won by Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and independent MLAs respectively.

Continue Reading

More in States and UTs

Why Younger Nation

Must Read

Take A Quiz


Like Us on Facebook

To Top