Connect with us

MP Assembly Elections 2018: Can BJP Tide Over Anti-Incumbency?

MP Assembly Elections 2018: Can BJP Tide Over Anti-Incumbency?
Kamal Nath (left) and Shivraj Singh Chouhan (right).(Source- Twitter)

States and UTs

MP Assembly Elections 2018: Can BJP Tide Over Anti-Incumbency?

BJP’s Shivraj Singh Chouhan is the longest-serving Chief Minister of the state.

Voting for the MP Assembly Elections 2018 took place on Wednesday with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) hoping to tide over anti-incumbency and retain power for the fourth successive term.

The Congress, on the other hand, believes that it has a strong chance of coming back to power for the first time since 2003.

Three-time Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan led the BJP’s campaign to continue in government. In the run-up to the elections, he was quoted as saying that he was banking on “pro-incumbency” due to the work done by his government.

The Congress charge was spearheaded by former Union Ministers and members of Parliament (MPs) Kamal Nath and Jyotiradtiya Scindia.

For the state’s last Congress Chief Minister and senior party leader Digvijay Singh, it is a personal battle to stay relevant with the emergence of Scindia and the continuing clout of veteran leader Kamal Nath.

A nine-term Lok Sabha MP from Chhindwara, Nath was appointed to head the MP State Congress Committee in the run-up to the assembly polls. A four-time MP from Guna, Scindia was named the party’s campaign committee chief.

In October, the Election Commission of India had announced assembly elections in five states, in phases. The other states are Chhatisgarh, Rajasthan, Telangana, and Mizoram.

(ReadAssembly Elections 2018: 5 States Go To Polls In November, December)

Voting For MP Assembly Elections 2018

(Source- Twitter handle of official spokesperson of Election Commission of India)

(Source- Twitter handle of official spokesperson of Election Commission of India)

Voting day saw complaints of malfunctioning Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and Voter Verified Paper Audit Trails (VVPATs) from many constituencies, with some reports putting the number at almost 100 till afternoon.

The election authorities are using over 78,000 EVMs during the polls.

The state has 230 assembly seats. In 2013, the BJP swept the elections winning 165 seats; the Congress was at the second position with 58 seats.

Madhya Pradesh voted along with Mizoram on Wednesday. Polling for the Chhattisgarh Assembly elections ended on 20 November.

(ReadChhattisgarh Assembly Elections 2018: Second Phase Polling Ends)

No Holds-Barred Election Campaign By BJP, Cong

The campaign for the MP Assembly Elections 2018 was a high-pitched one, with BJP’s star campaigner and Prime Minister Narendra Modi going all guns blazing in his attacks on the Congress leadership.

Party president Amit Shah chipped in with a series of well-attended meetings that he said was a sign of things to come.

The Congress tried hard to reclaim lost ground, focusing on the plight of farmers and unemployment to highlight the non-performance of the BJP government.

It is looking for a win in a major state to boost the sagging morale of party workers, having lost to the BJP in both Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh in December last year.

(Read – 2017 Assembly Elections: BJP Retains Gujarat, Wrests Himachal Pradesh)

Continue Reading

More in States and UTs

Why Younger Nation

Must Read

Take A Quiz


Like Us on Facebook

To Top