Connect with us

On Hindi Diwas, 10 Interesting Facts About The Popular Language

Hindi Diwas
Representational Image. (Source- Pixabay)

Discovering India

On Hindi Diwas, 10 Interesting Facts About The Popular Language

In addition to India, Hindi is widely spoken in several foreign countries as well.

Every year, 14 September is observed as Hindi Day or Hindi Diwas in India. It was on this day in 1949 that Hindi in the Devanagari script was adopted as the country’s official language under Article 343 of the Indian Constitution. English was also given the status of an official language, initially for 15 years. This was subsequently extended under provisions of the Official Languages Act, 1963. 

On Hindi Diwas, Here Are 10 Interesting Facts About Hindi Language

  • Being used by almost 500 million people around the world, Hindi is the fourth most-spoken language of the world.
  • There are 22 Scheduled languages of India, of which, two are officially used at the Union government level: Hindi and English. States can, however, use any of the other scheduled languages as well.
  • Hindi finds its origin as an Indo-European language and a standardised from of Hindustani, along with Urdu in the 19th century. However, many words from Persian and Arabic languages have also been borrowed by Mughals which enriched the Hindi vocabulary.
  • In 1881, Bihar became the first Indian state to adopt Hindi as its official language, replacing the earlier Urdu. Later, other states like Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand and Himachal Pradesh also adopted Hindi as their official languages.
  • Apart from India, Hindi is widely spoken in countries like Mauritius, Nepal, Singapore, Fiji and the Caribbean countries. In Guyana, Trinidad, and Suriname, Hindi still remains to be a popular language.
  • Yoga that has been adopted universally by the people and finds its roots in India and is a Hindi word. Other popular Hindi words include bungalow, cheetah, chutney, karma and avatar.
  • Mahatma Gandhi used Hindi to bind Indian together during the struggle for independence. Therefore, Hindi is also known as the “Language of Unity”. The word “Swadeshi” also appears in the Oxford Dictionary.
  • Hindi is among the seven Indian languages that can be used to make the web address of websites. The other six languages are Punjabi, Urdu, Tamil, Telugu, Gujarati and Bengali.
  • Hindi letters are illusion-free which means that the mirror image of any letter will never result in another letter like some English letters such as m & w, a & e and d & b. Hindi is also phonetic as it is spoken the way it is written.
  • Narmad, the Gujarati poem is the first artistic work in which Hindi is referred to as the national language of India. The Prem Sagar by Lallu Lal is the first published book in the modern Hindi language. The first Hindi film is Raja Harishchandra made by Dadasaheb Phalke.


Continue Reading

More in Discovering India

Why Younger Nation

Must Read

Take A Quiz


Like Us on Facebook

To Top