Connect with us

BJP’s BS Yeddyurappa Sworn In As Karnataka CM

BJP’s BS Yeddyurappa Sworn In As Karnataka CM
BS Yeddyurappa takes oath as Karnataka CM. (Source - BS Yeddyurappa's Twitter account)

News Desk

BJP’s BS Yeddyurappa Sworn In As Karnataka CM

The JD(S)-Congress combine had also staked claim to form the government.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader BS Yeddyurappa was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka on Thursday. The development came hours after the Supreme Court refused to stay the swearing-in ceremony after being approached by the Congress late on Wednesday night.

The Supreme Court, which convened past midnight after a plea for an urgent hearing from the Congress, will continue to hear the petition on Friday.

This is the third time that BS Yeddyurappa, popularly known as BSY, has become the CM of Karnataka. He took oath at the Raj Bhawan in Bengaluru in the name of God and farmers.

State Governor Vajubhai Vala had invited the BJP to form the government late on Wednesday evening, ending two days of uncertainty after no party got a majority in the Karnataka assembly verdict 2018. The Congress then decided to approach the SC. The Governor has given BSY 15 days time to prove his majority on the floor of the House.

Cliff-Hanger In Karnataka

The Karnataka assembly elections 2018 turned out to be a cliff-hanger with no single party getting a majority as counting ended on Tuesday.

While the BJP emerged as the single-largest party with 104 seats, it fell short of the majority mark of 112. Two other parties, Janata Dal (Secular) with 38 seats and the Congress with 78 seats, announced that they were coming together and staked claim to form the government. The BJP, on the other hand, contended that it should be invited to form the government as it was the single-largest party.

Both the sides met Governor Vajubhai Vala on Tuesday as well as Wednesday to put forth their case.

The state had voted for 222 assembly seats on Saturday; elections to two more seats had been deferred by the election commission.

The counting day began with the BJP surging into the lead but as it became clear that it would fall short of the half-way mark by some seats, the Congress swung into action. It offered to support a government headed by HD Kumaraswamy of the JD(S), an offer that was quickly accepted by the party.

Bitter Campaign

The campaign for the Karnataka assembly elections 2018 was a bitter one with the outgoing Congress Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and party president Rahul Gandhi on one side and Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah, and the party’s Chief Ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa on the other.

The run-up to the elections had seen Siddramaiah invoke Kannada pride by recommending a state flag. The BJP, on the other hand, used allegations of corruption against the Congress government to ask people to vote it in for the state’s development and better governance.

Continue Reading

More in News Desk

Why Younger Nation

Must Read

Take A Quiz


Like Us on Facebook

To Top