Connect with us

IPL 2018 Auction: Kamlesh Nagarkoti To Play For Kolkata, Prithvi Shaw In Delhi Team

Team KKR at the IPL 2018 auction.
Team KKR at the IPL 2018 auction. (Source - Official Twitter handle of the Indian Premier League)


IPL 2018 Auction: Kamlesh Nagarkoti To Play For Kolkata, Prithvi Shaw In Delhi Team

Nagarkoti is the spearhead of the Indian U-19 team’s bowling while Shaw is the captain.

India U-19 pace sensation Kamlesh Nagarkoti was sold to Kolkata Knight Riders for Rs 3.2 crores at the IPL 2018 auction on Saturday. Nagarkoti, who is the spearhead of the Indian bowling attack at the ongoing ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup being played in New Zealand, has impressed with speeds hitting the 145 kmph range.

The captain of India’s U-19 team, Mumbai’s Prithvi Shaw, will play for the Delhi Daredevils after being sold for Rs 1.2 crores at the auction.

Kolkata Knight Riders also picked up the India U-19 vice-captain, Shubman Gill, for Rs 1.8 crores. The Punjab batsman has had an impressive run at the ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup with scores of 63, 90*, and 86. India will play Pakistan in the super league semi-final match on 30 January.

Fast bowler Ankit Singh Rajpoot, who was with Kolkata Knight Riders the last season was picked up by Kings XI Punjab for Rs 3 crores, 10 times his base price of Rs 30 lakhs for the IPL 2018 auction.

Ben Stokes Fetches Highest Price

England all-rounder Ben Stokes fetches the highest price on the first day of the two-day IPL 2018 auction. He was sold to Rajasthan Royals for Rs 12.5 crores. Another English cricketer, Jos Buttler, was picked up by the Rajasthan Royals team for Rs 4.4 crores.

Other high-cost purchases included Manish Pandey (Sunrisers Hyderabad) and KL Rahul (Kings XI Punjab), both for Rs 11 crores. Australia’s Chris Lynn, who has hit the highest number of sixes in the country’s Big Bash League (BBL) was picked up by the Kokata Knight Riders for Rs 9.6 crores.

Fast bowler Mitchell Starc was also sold to KKR for Rs 9.4 crores while another Australian cricketer, Glenn Maxwell, was bought by the Delhi Daredevils for Rs 9 crores.

18 Stars Retained By Teams

The eight franchises of the India Premier League had already retained 18 players from the previous season before the IPL 2018 auction commenced. They did so under the right to retention rule introduced this year.

The players retained by Mumbai Indians are star batsman Rohit Sharma, in-form all-rounder Hardik Pandya and fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah. Delhi Daredevils have retained Rishabh Pant, Chris Morris and Shreyas Iyer. They have also appointed former Australia skipper Ricky Ponting as the new head coach.

The players retained by Royal Challengers Bangalore are Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers and young bowler Sarfaraz Khan. India T20 captain MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina and Ravindra Jadeja will continue with Chennai Super Kings.

Kolkata Knight Riders retained Sunil Narine and Andrew Russell while SunRisers Hyderabad decided to stick with David Warner and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals have retained Axar Patel and Steve Smith respectively.

Two teams, Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals, are making a comeback to IPL this year after being suspended for two years due to spot fixing.

Continue Reading

More in Sports

Why Younger Nation

Must Read

Take A Quiz


Like Us on Facebook

To Top