Connect with us

National Sports Awards 2018: Virat Kohli, Mirabai Chanu Get Khel Ratna

National Sports Awards 2018: Virat Kohli, Mirabai Chanu Get Khel Ratna
President Ram Nath Kovind awards the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna to Virat Kohli and Mirabai Chanu.


National Sports Awards 2018: Virat Kohli, Mirabai Chanu Get Khel Ratna

20 sportspersons, including Neeraj Chopra and Hima Das, received the Arjuna Award.

Virat Kohli has capped a dream run on the cricket field by receiving the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna as part of the National Sports Awards 2018. He shared the honour with world weightlifting champion and Commonwealth Games gold medallist Saikhom Mirabai Chanu.

The National Sports Awards 2018, given away by President Ram Nath Kovind in New Delhi on Tuesday, also saw 20 sportspersons receive the Arjuna Award.

Virat Kohli is the third Indian cricketer to win the Khel Ratna after Sachin Tendulkar and Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Mirabai Chanu lived up to her reputation as the world champion in weightlifting by winning the first gold medal for India at the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games.

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years.

Javelin throw champion Neeraj Chopra, cricketer Smriti Mandhana, athlete Hima Das, and hockey players Manpreet Singh and Savita were among those who received the Arjuna Award this year. The award is given for consistently outstanding performance for four years.

(ReadVirat Kohli, Mirabai Chanu Recommended For Khel Ratna Award)

Complete List of National Sports Awards 2018

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna

  • Virat Kohli (Cricket)
  • Mirabai Chanu (Weightlifting)

Arjuna Award

  • Neeraj ChopraHima Das, and Jinson Johnson (Athletics)
  • Manpreet Singh and Savita Punia (Hockey)
  • Sikki Reddy (Badminton)
  • Satish Kumar (Boxing)
  • Smriti Mandhana (Cricket)
  • Shubhankar Sharma (Golf)
  • Ravi Rathore (Polo)
  • Rahi Sarnobat, Ankur Mittal and Shreyasi Singh (Shooting)
  • Mannika Batra and G Sathiyan (Table tennis)
  • Rohan Bopanna (Tennis)
  • Puja Kadian (Wushu)
  • Sumit (Wrestling)
  • Ankur Dhama (Para athletics) and Manoj Sarkar (Para badminton)

The winners of the Dronacharya Award, for coaches training medal winners at prestigious International sports events, are:

  • C A Kuttappa (Boxing)
  • Sukhdev Singh Pannu (Athletics)
  • Vijay Sharma (Weightlifting)
  • A Srinivasa Rao (Table Tennis);
  • Clarence Lobo (Hockey, Lifetime)
  • Tarak Sinha (Cricket, Lifetime)
  • Jiwan Kumar Sharma (Judo, Lifetime)
  • V R Beedu (Athletics, Lifetime).

The Dhyan Chand Award for life time contribution to sports development went to:

  • Satyadev Prasad (Archery)
  • Bharat Kumar Chetri (Hockey)
  • Bobby Aloysius (Athletics)
  • Chougale Daddu Dattatraya (Wrestling)

The Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2018, for encouraging sports under three different categories, went to:

  • Rashtriya Ispat Nigam Limited – Identification and Nurturing of Budding & Young Talent
  • JSW Sports – Encouragement to Sports through Corporate Social Responsibility
  • Isha Outreach – Sports for Development

The Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy 2017-18 has been awarded to Guru Nanak Dev University (GNDU), Amritsar. The award is given to the top- performing university in inter-university tournaments overall.

Along with a medal and a citation, the Khel Ratna award carries a cash prize of Rs. 7.5 lakh.

Recipients of the Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand awardees received statuettes, certificates and a cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh each.

The MAKA Trophy carries a cash prize of Rs 10 lakhs and a certificate.

(All the photos are from the official Twitter account of the President of India)

Continue Reading

More in Sports

Why Younger Nation

Must Read

Take A Quiz


Like Us on Facebook

To Top