Connect with us

Virat Kohli Record: Fastest Indian To Reach 24 Test 100s; Goes Past Tendulkar

Virat Kohli Record: Fastest Indian To Reach 24 Test 100s; Goes Past Tendulkar
(Source – Twitter account of the BCCI)


Virat Kohli Record: Fastest Indian To Reach 24 Test 100s; Goes Past Tendulkar

Kohli scored 139 as India piled on the runs against West Indies in the First Test.

Another cricket match, another Virat Kohli record! The Indian captain scored his 24th Test century on Friday, becoming the fastest Indian to do so in 123 innings. His feat eclipsed the existing record held by Sachin Tendulkar, who reached this mark in his 125th innings.

With this, Kohli is second only to Don Bradman when it comes to the number of innings taken to score 24 Test hundreds. The Australian great had reached there in only 66 innings.

Tendulkar was effusive in his praise for Kohli’s batting.

The latest Virat Kohli record came a day after opener Prithvi Shaw became the seventh youngest Test centurion in the world.

(ReadPrithvi Shaw, 18, Is Youngest Indian To Score 100 On Test Debut)

By the time he had departed after a well-made 139, Kohli had scored 1,000 Test runs in a single calendar year for the third time in a row.

The prolific Indian batsman, incidentally, crossed another milestone – he has now scored the fourth highest number of Test centuries for India (Virender Sehwag had scored 23 tons before he retired).

Virat Kohli Record Run In 2018

Playing against South Africa in January, he had equalled the legendary Bradman’s record of the maximum number of 150-plus scores in Test cricket as a captain after scoring 153.

This was the Indian captain’s ninth score of 150-plus, which includes six double hundreds, all of them as a captain. Incidentally, he is the only captain in Test history to have scored six double centuries. Former West Indies captain Brian Lara has five double centuries to his name.

(Read – Virat Kohli equals Don Bradman’s Record of Most 150-Plus Scores As Test Captain)

 A Year Of Awards For Kohli

The Indian captain has been in sublime form of over the past few seasons. Not surprisingly, he was named the Cricketer of the Year as he swept the ICC awards for 2017. He was named the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year and the captain of the ICC Team of the Year for both Tests as well as One Day Internationals (ODIs).

Last month, he became only the third cricketer after Sachin Tendulkar and Mahendra Singh Dhoni to receive the prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awards.

(Read – National Sports Awards 2018: Virat Kohli, Mirabai Chanu Get Khel Ratna)

Continue Reading

More in Sports

Why Younger Nation

Must Read

Take A Quiz


Like Us on Facebook

To Top