Connect with us

How Well Do You Know The Prime Ministers Of India?


How Well Do You Know The Prime Ministers Of India?

The Constitution of India provides a comprehensive institutional framework for the governance of the country. One of the key components is the institution of the Prime Minister. Take this quiz to find out how much you know about the Prime Ministers of India.

1. Which branch of the government does the Prime Minister preside over?

The Prime Minister of India is the head of the executive branch of the Government of India. The Prime Minister is also the chief adviser to the President of India and heads of the Council of Ministers.

2. Who was the first Prime Minister of India?

Jawahar Lal Nehru, who was a key figure in the Indian struggle for Independence, was the first Prime Minister of Independent India.

3. When did the current Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi assume office?

Narendra Modi was sworn in as Prime Minister on 26 May 2014, after the Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) won a massive victory in the Lok Sabha elections.

4. Who is the only person to have served as an acting Prime Minister twice?

Gulzarilal Nanda was an Indian politician and economist who was the acting Prime Minister of India for two short periods following the deaths of Jawaharlal Nehru in 1964 and Lal Bahadur Shastri in 1966.

5. How many Prime Ministers has India had till date?

India has had 15 leaders who have held the position of Prime Minister so far. Four of them have had multiple terms as PM. They are Indira Gandhi (4 terms), Atal Bihari Vajpayee (3 terms), Manmohan Singh (2 terms), and Gulzarilal Nanda (2 terms as acting Prime Minister).

6. Who was India’s first and only woman Prime Minister?

Indira Gandhi, daughter of Jawaharlal Nehru who was active in the Congress party since the 1940s, was the first and, to date, the only female Prime Minister of India. She became the PM on 24 January 1966.

7. Which person has had the longest tenure as Prime Minister?

Jawahar Lal Nehru is till date the longest serving Prime Minister with a total tenure of 16 years and 286 days.

9. Name the only Indian Prime Minister who has lost an election.

Indira Gandhi lost the 1977 Lok Sabha election from Rae Bareli in Uttar Pradesh, becoming the only sitting Prime Minister to be defeated in a general election.

10. Which state has given the maximum number of Prime Ministers to India?

Uttar Pradesh has given eight Prime Ministers. They are: Jawaharlal Nehru, Lal Bahadur Shastri, Indira Gandhi, Charan Singh, Rajiv Gandhi, Vishwanath Pratap Singh, Chandra Shekhar, and Atal Bihar Vajpayee.

11. Name the only person who never faced Parliament as Prime Minister.

Chaudhury Charan Singh formed a government with the support of the Indira Gandhi-led Congress and became the Prime Minister. The Congress withdrew its support in less than a month; Singh continued as caretaker PM. Between 28 July 1979 and 14 January 1980, when he held office, the Lok Sabha did not meet even once.

12. Who has had the shortest tenure as India's Prime Minister?

The Bharatiya Janata Party’s Atal Bihari Vajpayee held the PM’s office from 16 May-1 June 1996 in his first term as Prime Minister. He later had two more Prime Ministerial terms. (* Gulzarilal Nanda’s two terms with a total of 26 days were as acting Prime Minister).

13. Who was the oldest person to become the Prime Minister of India?

Morarji Desai was 81 years and 23 days old when he took oath as the Prime Minister on 24 March 1977, making him the oldest person to do so in India’s history.

13. What is the name of the agency that provides protection to Prime Ministers, and their immediate family members?

The Special Protection Group (SPG) is entrusted with the security of the current and former Prime Ministers and their immediate family members.

14. How many Prime Ministers of India have died while in office?

Three Prime Ministers, Jawaharlal Nehru, Lal Bahadur Shastri, and Indira Gandhi, have died while in office. Nehru died in New Delhi on 27 May 1964; Shastri died in Tashkent (in the then USSR) on 11 January 1966, a day after India and Pakistan signed the Tashkent agreement to end the 1965 Indo-Pak War ; Indira Gandhi was assassinated in New Delhi on 31 October 1984.

15. Where does the Prime Minister of India reside?

7, Lok Kalyan Marg in New Delhi, serves as the official residence for the Prime Minister of India. This was earlier known as 7, Race Course Road.

Continue Reading

More in Quiz

Why Younger Nation

Must Read

Take A Quiz


Like Us on Facebook

To Top